STEM Action Center to Honor Innovative Teachers

STEM Action Center to Honor Innovative Teachers

by Andrew Reed, Idaho EdNews

Leaders of the Idaho STEM Action Center will honor two Idaho teachers for championing the subjects of science, technology, engineering and math.

Payette teacher Paula McElroy and Caldwell teacher Jason George were named winners of the INDEEDS Awards, the Industry’s Excellent Educators Dedicated to STEM awards.

The award was created in 2000 by former Gov. Dirk Kempthorne and is awarded to teachers who forge alliances between students, Idaho businesses and STEM education advocates.

“Paula and Jason make huge impacts on students — and colleagues — every day,” said Angela Hemingway, the executive director of the STEM Action Center. “They not only push themselves to grow as professionals, but help ensure their fellow teachers reach their full potential, too, with both having worked extensively mentoring and training numerous educators over the years.”

McElroy, has taught fifth grade at Westside Elementary School in Payette for 24 years. She was one of the first teachers in Idaho to earn a Technology Integration Specialist certificate. She has helped teachers in Payette and Weiser pass the technology requirement for credential recertification. She has secured school-improvement and afterschool program grants to get technology into the hands of students and she created the Payette School District’s first robotics team.